journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pre-Holiday Cheer - Mid-week Hump Day

I have found myself sleeping alone in my own bed only once a week, twice if I'm lucky.

This typically sounds like a good thing, except my neck and shoulders are in major pain from spending the night in other peoples beds, my own couch, or other people's couches (on account of snoring). My collection of undergarments and socks has doubled this past month, and the muddled clarity of my face reflects the 'different pillows' methodology I've been practicing.

My roommate's sexual escapades have undoubtedly raised my baseline of sexual behavior to where 'totally active' is the new ground zero.

Thank the lord, I�ll tell you.

By the way, driving a convertible 2-seater with 2 passengers in the single passenger seat is against the law. They could both get tickets for not having a seatbelt, and the driver gets a criminal summons charging him with 2 counts of reckless endangerment.

On a related subject, it�s rather difficult to get a ticket for anything in NY if you�re polite, friendly, funny, have a NY Gov�t ID card, and if your 2 passengers are each a city employee and a retired city cop�s son.

It also seems to help if you offer to trade the police officers car saying �there�s just 2 of you, and there�s 3 of us. If we switched, we�d both be a lot happier, I think.� Hell yeah. Have a nice day, officers.

This is the second time I got pulled over this year, really deserved to get a ticket, and didn�t. I�m literally knocking on wood. To all those who think NYPD has no sympathy for brown-skinned men driving luxury convertibles with Jersey plates, think again. They actually do.

In another good-luck happenstance, I lost my wallet and it was returned to me via USPS. Cash missing, but everything else intact. Not bad... it's that time of year to reward sidewalk bums for anonymous acts of kindness.

After all, the words of the prophets are written on the subway walls. Who am I to question american poetry like that?

I�m prepping up for our company�s Holiday Xmas party. We had a very good year & bonuses are very large and include things like life insurance, substantial deposits in retirement accounts, among the usual holiday cheer. The party will be held at a rathskeller-themed pub of a dear friend & will be a small, powerful, and vibrant group of New Yorkers. I really look forward to it.

Happy Holidays to all� and to all a good night!

5:49 p.m. - 2005-12-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym