journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Brooklyn Indian Invasion

Neatly packed containers of healthy and delicious homemade Indian food and a spotless living room/kitchen are the only evidence left from a pretty miraculous event this evening.

For the first time since I left home at the age of 17, my family came to visit. Everybody... mom, dad, brother, sister, and sister's husband. Add to that my paternal uncle and his wife... every relative I have in the USA... converged on my apartment this afternoon/evening for an impromptu get-together.

My sister and her husband just flew in today from an 8-week European tour. We hardly ever get to see them, so I leaped at the chance to invite all eight of them.

It was really nice... for an event so significant and rare... I'm happy that it flowed so naturally.

My brother-in-law... a genuinely nice guy... and I took a stroll around the neighborhood while my sister and the others gabbed and had a chance to catch up in my apartment.

Dinner was incredible. My aunt did all the cooking, and explained over dinner that organic, pesticide-free vegetables are not only healthy for their intrinsic value, but also taste so good that they virtually eliminate the need for things like oil and salt.

She didn't bring over containerfuls of cheap, oily cab-driver-fare food. She brought over some incredible stuff... I told her I will visit her soon and cook with her.

As my friend Jacq the chef insisted after tasting our cooking... 'you absolutely need to learn these recipes. recipes, if nothing else, are the family heirloom that must be passed down thru the generations. once they are lost, they are gone forever.'

He's right.

It's a valuable lesson... and almost even worth having missed opera in central park to learn.

8:53 p.m. - 2006-08-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym