journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Nice Bday (copied from myspace)

I'm pleased to announce the Journalman bday celebration "32 is the new 30" was a full success. Since turning 21, I have only done 'the birthday thing' for the past three years and I have to say there is real value in marking the start of each year.

Friends from all walks of life visited me. New friends and old. People from my Belize trip paid toll and came into the city... friends who I haven't seen since last year & who hardly ever go out made it together and came right on time. My college roommates, Matt and Adrian, both came as they have consistently for the past three years. I really only see Adrian on my birthday. But man I feel like we have such a strong friendship simply because he makes the yearly trip and offers to buy me a drink.

Preparing the venue was the best part. We were at the Rivington Hotel on the Lower East Side. (www.hotelonrivington.com)

I arrived early, managed to slip the hostess and the manager a folded $20 (i know.. that's it), and requested a space for "six appetizers". I thought of this as the best way to reserve a section of a swany little hotel without actually paying the room fee.

It worked really well. They reserved an entire section of the upstairs lounge and even pre-printed (like on a computer) embossed cards that said "Reserved for Mr. Journalman" and spread them out on about five tables. We had our own competent & sweet waitress and out of sheer luck, Steph from the Belize trip happened to know the service bartender on our floor. We got a few extras on the house, there.

Nobody drank too much (the prices were prohibitive, in a good way, I think), and I got some good gifts, too.

With hope for an excellent year for us all.


4:06 p.m. - 2006-11-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym