journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BDay Shout For The Friends

I very much enjoy celebrating my birthday every year. This is the second year in a row in recent memory that I've celebrated it, and the first time since my early childhood that I celebrated on my actual birthday.

Birthday celebrations are a time that your friends come together for you... with you, and it marks the start of something new. Just as rings on a tree tell a story of that particular year... whether there was a draught or if it was especially verdant, placement of a physically tangible demarcation... as in a party... allows us to turn a new leaf.

Birthday parties make it easier, in certain circumstances, to say 'that was then, this is now.' My rosters contain records of former friends.

These are people who would have loved this party... but missed out. Really missed out. Despite the alpha-male-piloted description I gave of this party, the atmosphere was warm.

I know I highlighted basal aspects of the evening, but I may have done a disservice in doing so. My friends who were able to attend all arrived on time & 'got dressed up'. There were no jeans in the house, and I was wowed by that a little bit.

I know I highlighted the more 'hookup-related' aspects of the evening, and I may have done a disservice in doing so.

My friends are an eclectic bunch, yet they meshed so naturally. Conversation flowed, numbers were exchanged, and many a time,

I guess the one thing they all had in common was me. And that was good enough for them. I'm humbled beyond belief by this.

This year, I am tremendously grateful for my friends.

11:07 p.m. - 2005-11-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym