journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Multiple Bike Rides, Fitness Optimism

I've been riding my bicycle and I love it. I realize that I'm slightly insane for bundling up and pedaling through 2 NYC boroughs in January, but I think the argument can be made that wintertime is the best time of year to ride.

The streets are less crowded, gloves are always a nice thing when pulling metal levers and gripping, and my body temperature rises so much that I literally unzip my winter jacket while going up and over the icy East river. Being that warm in the summertime hopelessly soaks your entire outfit with sweat, at the very least.

Indeed. Wintertime is not without its charms.

Last night, I rode 10 miles to see a friend in Williamsburg. Afterwards, I went 3 miles over the Wberg Bridge into Manhattan and stayed in the city overnight.

Today, I had a bowl of granola, yogurt, and fresh fruit for breakfast and rode all the way back from Grammercy to far-out Brooklyn; 10 miles. I got home and did a rotation of workouts with my dumbells.

This is all coming naturally, and it makes me very happy.

My work, however, is cut out for me. I am no where NEAR as spry as I once was. Five years ago, I was able to ascend the Williamsburg Bridge bike ramp (steep) in a middle gear. Granted, I'm now carrying the added weight of a 15lb kryp0nite lock, but I was struggling in low gear last night. Same bicycle. Out-of-shape cyclist.

I once read of a C0nde N@st bicycle tour through a handful of N@pa V@lley vineyards. The riders would ride a dozen or 2 miles every day through the hills & valleys of Nap@ stopping off and lodging at a different vineyard every night. Sampling wine, walking with the grapes, eating cheese, and getting massages.

And then hopping on the bicycle the next day for the next vineyard. It's something that I 'must do', if not there then somewhere in France, before very long.

I'm tempted to ride into work tomorrow; it doesn't make me crazy, it just makes me 'training for Napa'. I know I won't. Too much traffic on a weekday. The Brooklyn 3rd Ave raceway will maim me for sure.

So I'll bring my r0llerbl@des into work via subway instead. Wish me well.

10:15 p.m. - 2006-01-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym