journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jimmy and No Smoking

I�m doing very well with �no smoking�, to the point that I�m only mentioning it because I�m sure a few of you wonder. And my entries exist in part to cure wonderment :-)

When I lived in the East Village, I befriended a neighborhood bar/restaurant owner named Jimmy. �Uzeet, come here. I want you to taste the sauce.� That�s the invite he�d extend to me every afternoon when I walked past his restaurant on my way home.

The way to a man�s heart is through his stomach, and Jimmy is no exception. I have a love for the man because he fed me, took my advice, and came to me time and again for confidence and straight-up guy-bonding.

After closing his business, Jimmy opened a new bar in the Village, and ran into tremendous legal/zoning/use problems at his new location, the likes of which my firm would be retained to resolve. Or at least attempt to resolve.

We took the project pro-bono and after hitting 2 or 3 roadblocks and without us taking �no� for an answer, we finally made magic happen last Thursday. In a meeting between my father (the boss), Jimmy, and the Commissioner of the department, Jimmy finally will be able to both operate his business legally and get a new liquor license.

Being able to help a friend out so significantly, and to do so in a way that is so impressive and altruistic feels downright incredible.

2:20 p.m. - 2006-02-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym