journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Michelle Reeves - 1.5 Years Later

Up until last week, Michelle Reeves of Roswell, GA was the last person on record in America to have died from an alligator attack.

She was a close friend of mine... a budding romantic interest as well I should add... and it has been difficult coping with her death over the past few years. She was a poet, and I have a book of her poetry that helps me to think about her and smile from time to time.

With the three fatal alligator attacks in FL this past week, headlines everywhere have been forcing me to remember the fate of Michelle on that night.

I very well could have been the last person to ever speak to her. She called me at midnight on the night she went for a swim. I left for Australia the next day and thought it was very strange that I didn't hear from her.

She was killed that night. How I wish the headlines would stop. How I wish the internet would stop posting pictures of open alligator mouths.

I miss her. And the headlines don't help me remember her peacefully.

1:31 p.m. - 2006-05-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym