journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So There's a Courtney

I met a girl who is actually pretty great. We go out on an official 'date' on Saturday, though have hung out (in a group) three times so far. I'll call her Courtney.

The first time we met was at dinner with about 5 people wherein I mentioned that I placed an ad on Craigslist looking for somebody to iron 20-odd shirts of mine in exchange for some budd. I mentioned it in passing and thought nothing of it for the rest of the night.

The next day, she actually sought out my ad and e-mailed me thru it to say she had a great time meeting me & would love to hang out some time. She made her interest clear, and then went out on a limb by getting in touch with me in a cool way. I was impressed.

As we got to talking more, there's a lot that's quite likeable about her:

For example, she's never been to the 'meatpacking' (uber-clubby/trendy) part of town. It's a little fashion show over there full of glittery people that can easily suck you in and erase all your money and morality. I've been there many times, and part of my 'never going to find a good girl' depression comes from going to such places.

Except Courtney's never been. Has no interest in going. She's got my attention.

She's 'the opposite of a label-whore'. Non-materialistic, empassioned about liberal causes. At an Ivy League graduate program right now in a field where she'll largely help the underserved.

We grew up in the same county... literally 2 towns away from each other. Both been to the same 7-11, both peed in the same YMCA pool as kids.

She's extremely social nonetheless... she got along with 2 of my close and important friends at a happy hour last Friday. They both think she's great and that I should seriously date her.

Well that's what this Saturday's about.

We're meeting early... by my house, and we're starting off with brunch. Afterwards, we're going to do any number of things that include:

Driving in the convertible
The beach
A roller coaster
My backyard
Music
Cheese/Wine tasting
The Sat party at M0Ma
Gay burlesque show at midnight (not kidding)


What a blessed relief from Tramp this girl is. Calgon take me away.

1:53 p.m. - 2006-08-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym