journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rant Against the Passive Voice

One of the many hats I wear at work is that of copy editor for most of the written correspondence that leaves this office. Often times, this means I have to edit technical documents that are produced by Engineers.

The only problem in my being a non-engineer while editing these documents is the hurt egos and feelings people respond with when I make simple grammatical fixes.

Little things like... when asking a contractor to actually DO something (actively)... it's advisable to use the ACTIVE instead of PASSIVE voice. Such as, "please install the steel" instead of "the steel should be installed".

Except instead of recognizing how properly written documents can positively affect our business, senior engineers both take my comments personally and then respond by calling my non-engineering credentials into question.

At one point when I was put on the spot today, I kind of spoke my mind. I was direct.

Today, one particularly super-well-educated Engineer argued in his accent that his English Professor at XXX-named incredible school said that the "passive voice was okay". I told him to go to Port Authority, get on a bus, bring me the Professor so I can sit them down and teach them to write.

I didn't think he liked that very much. He can fucking bite me.

(NO. I do not regard my journal as a representative sample of my better writing).

I think people should have to apply for and receive a license to write in the passive voice. When used improperly, it's wimpy, it causes unnecessary ambiguity, and in-general reeks of the immigration line.

These are all impressions that I struggle with on a daily basis to disassociate from my company. It's an uphill battle some days.

3:04 p.m. - 2006-08-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym