journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Green Sarah Lifts the Blues

Sarah the ex-assistant came into my office yesterday to discuss working together again. She's probably the smartest person I've ever met and whereas I had this incredible brain assisting me with work 2 summers ago, things will be much different now that she's a part of our team again.

This time, we're doing a role reversal. I'm the one that will be assisting her. She has me at HER disposal this time around. I care about our oranization: I'd be a damned fool to put her brain submissive to mine.

After finishing her PhD, getting married, and having a son all in this 2-year hiatus, she's taken a keen interest in green-building and super-sustainable methods. She wants to be around it... buried in it with a reputable company no less, so that in 2 or 3 years' time, she can be an independent green building/design consultant.

What god-damned go-getter.

Parallel to her interest in sustainable design, our company has also become quite involved in much of the same type of work. It's something we are proud of, and something I recognize as a renewable (and quite profitable) new direction.

I'm touched that her summer with us 2 years ago helped to promote her interest in our industry. She's coming on board to spearhead development of that competency at our company.

We're about to get extremely green, and do so with class and intellectual heft. I'm going to shout it from the rooftops, people.

Thank god.

I finally have a use for those 1,000 green envelopes I bought for $ 3.99 at an office-store post-xmas sale about 5 years ago.


7:38 a.m. - 2006-08-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym