journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CEC - Returns after a Decade with a Reality Check

CEC was 18 years old, and I was 22. I'd just graduated NYU, and was tickled by this tall redhead who was totally into me.

She lived in South, NJ and I lived in Manhattan, and we had a laughter, sex, and joy-filled relationship throughout the summer. In retrospect, it was really nice and kind of touching.

I was working my first 'real' job after college, and my boss at the time... a bachelor at the then-age of 42, told me that if I played my cards properly, that I will have "a lifelong sexual relationship".

Well, the summer ended, and CEC went off to college, and we lost touch.

Until yesterday. Apparently I'm google-able.

Young CEC is going on 28 now, studied business, owns her own condo, and clearly can perform web searches. She drives a white nissan (I asked), does not own an I-pod, and is revolted by the present administration. She also has a steady boyfriend, which I expected, and exchanged telephone numbers with me so we can trade random text messages from time to time.

It was nice to hear.

Less nice to hear... at least in some ways... is what she expected of me.

We talked about old friends of mine who she met, only a handful of which I stay in touch with. She was my date to my now-estranged guy friend's engagement party. I haven't really seem them after the wedding, and here CEC is asking about them.

Wow, I thought. This girl really recalls a significant chapter of my life. She knows me.

She said she always knew I'd do something big with myself. She thought for sure I'd be married with kids by now.

Those two hit me like a ton of bricks. Still reeling from it.

Son of bitch. She's right.

7:28 a.m. - 2006-08-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym