journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tremendous Appreciation for Sister

My father was admitted for emergency eye surgery last night. His retina had begun to detach. Had he waited 2 more days, his right eye would have lost vision permanently. His operation was successful, thank god.

I am filled with gratitude for my sister, an MD... and up until now... I thought to be pretty much a useless doctor. He mentioned it to her at dinner, she did a quick-test thing with her fingers up in the air, and told my father flat out: 'go to the hospital. if you were in my ER waiting room, i'd admit you for emergency eye surgery right now.'

A powerful yet blunt statement to an Engineer whose entire life's work has depended on his vision. She researched top eye surgeons, and had an emergency appointment created for him at the best hospital for it in the city.

I saw him this morning the moment visiting hours began. I met his surgeon, who was confident of a full recovery (provided my father let the air bubble in his eye do its thing), and he surgeon even spoke to my sister over the telephone and answered all of her concerns.

I'm humbled to the point of tears, quite literally, by my sister's ability to come to our aid like that.

She saved his eyesight. No wonder she acts as if she walks on water.

I'd never admit to her, but she virtually does.

12:07 p.m. - 2006-08-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym