journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Belizian Southerner's Delight

SQUIRRELWOOD

Sometimes you feel like a nut; sometimes you don't. Truly. I have my good days and bad.

Today was a good day for the recordbooks. Who knows why... it started, sustained, and ended incredibly.

I also had dinner tonight with Lissie. She's a former employee of mine... from about a decade ago... who I recently reconciled and decided to have dinner with.

She's a superstar. At a huge VC firm, doing well, and managing life properly. After a day at work that proved that a company like mine can TRULY reach real greatness, it was inspirational to share tapas and flamenco dancing with such a go-getter.

We talked into the late night, and plan to be incredible friends.


BEST EVER

I acknowledge that I'm a littlebit crazy about my Belize trip.

However, when I tell people... all/any people... about our expedition and experience, they say I'm incredibly lucky and I believe it.

We chartered 2 dual-sail catamarans and sailed down the coast of Belize. Reef-rich caribbean sea... 15 virtual strangers bound together for the better part of two weeks.

This doesn't happen all the time. In fact, 2 couples from the boat are already pregnant and their lives will never permit such a trip again.

I made a friend named Julia2 on the boat, the picture of a genteel-southern gal, and I'm crashing in Charleston with her this weekend.


IT GOES LIKE THIS

Every Julia I've met in my lifetime has been an incredible human being. Julia2 is no exception. I feel as if I meet Julia Roberts, I'd feel the same way.

J2 grew up on a horse farm in KY, and now owns one of the premiere galleries in Charleston, USA. Self-made.

She was on my boat... a friend of a friend. The sweetest southern gal you'd ever meet. Wouldn't even touch her knife/fork at dinner until all 15 of us drunk sailors were seated and served. Lives in Charleston and admitted she has a hard time making friends her age.

It just so happens that my dear friend mKla moved to Charleston and had the same social gripe. The city shuts down early, and 20-somethings are prevented from meeting each other because of it.

I insisted that Julia2 meet mKla, and they did shortly after Belize. They have been the closest of friends ever since, completely cross-pollinating one another's social circle.

While on the boat... almost 6 months ago by now... I asked Julia2 to be my date for the wedding. She said yes immediately.

So now I'm going to the wedding with a local debutante, uber-charming southern gal, atop of which she's picking me up from the airport, letting me crash in her palatial apartment which also happens to be one city block away from the reception.

Bullseye.

And now I must finish packing for the weekend. A teensy bit nervous regardind the hurricane and my airline, that just happened to take a wrong runway this week.

The weekend will be splendid. Quite possibly the closest I'll get to 95-degrees for a good while.


2:00 a.m. - 2006-09-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym