journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mKla Wedding and a Bejeweled Crown

mKla (MK) Wedding

Simplistically enough, my favorite part of dear MK's wedding had nothing to do with the high-class military-tradition ceremony or the fancy reception at the place where governors convene every year. It was the excitement of arriving in a new city, immediately putting faces to so many names MK has told stories about over the years, jotting my cellphone number down on a napkin, and then instantly slipping into a tight-knit, new circle of friends for just this weekend.

I received and made calls all weekend from/to Michigan, Kentucky, Georgia, South Carolina, Tennessee, Ohio, and Indiana cellphone numbers. We gave each other rides everywhere, met up for brunch before the wedding, and pal'ed around as if we knew each other forever. So when the wedding ceremony began... only about 12 hours after everybody's first meeting, it truly felt like a partyful of good friends.

I know that MK wanted only this for her wedding, and she accomplished it.


I wore my white suit, all right. Heads turned and people smiled when we walked in together. Women kept saying I looked 'hot' , men kept congratulating me for being 'able to pull off' the suit, when I accidentally brushed past a bridesmade's bottom and said "I'm sorry I didn't mean to bump you there", she responded "well why not?".

At one point, the bride's mother even told me that it would have been ok if MK married me, instead. Yeah that one made my ears ring for a second. But hey, not a bad set of props from an eighth-generation blue-eyed Georgian momma.

My closest friends are getting married. You better believe I feel the weight of that.


Julia2 and Charleston

J2 was a wonderful host, and I'm so happy we had this weekend to become even closer friends then when in Belize.

When you sail with a group of new friends, the friendship process is accelerated. You're on vacation... your inhibitions are nonexistent, and within minutes of meeting each other, a group of caribbean partygoers will share life stories, greatest fears, and deep/dark secrets.

This weekend was no departure from that... she picked me up from the airport, insisted I stay in her room while she sleep on a guestbed, and all the while, we picked up right where we left off.


I�m very proud of my strength in being able to meet beautiful, remarkable women, and having the good sense in some cases to think long-term. To not ruin it, and develop amazing life-long friendships instead.

Of course... who knows what�s out there in the future?

I wouldn�t trade slow-dancing and laughing with the prettiest girl in the room all night for a thing in the world.


7:43 p.m. - 2006-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym