journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday Morning Entreprenurialism, Beard Experiment Kickoff

CRAZY, PROBABLY

A good way to make the mundane more fun is to connect repetitive tasks with an unrelated event. The correlation alone is often enough to create enterertainment value.

For example, I get my haircut regularly... about every 4 to 5 weeks. It was great fun for me and the last girl I dated to link my haircuts with her monthly cycles.

Not really gross.

More like "dude... time for a haircut". Or like when her cycles affected her behaviorally, I would say "God damn my hair is getting so long. It SUCKS!"

The freeflowing appreciation of otherwise mundane or crappy events. That's what I think I like the most about having a signficant other.

It's a good test, too. If you 'like' somebody, and if you guys can't be comfortable enough around eachother to delight in the nonsensical, then there's no point in pushing forward.


BEARD

I actually did get a haircut.

I'm going to grow a beard for ONE week, and write about my experiences every day.

My objective: to be searched in the subway. I want to see for myself how fucked we are as a country.

"Wow. I just started growing this just to see. I've been writing about it, officer XXXX. How screwed are we as a nation if the bad guys send a shaved, light-skinned person with a Von Dutch t-shirt to do the dirty work?"

I'm going to say it, too.


DIRKA DIRKA

I actually just went to an online Arabic-English dictionary in search of the word 'beard'. I'm pretty sure that it did the translating for me, except the damned result came out in arabic. You know, not like in letters my Dell keyboard can handle.

I also noticed that most of these dictionaries cost MONEY. Actual dollars to use. One site specialized in terminology used on oilfields, and of course costed money to use.

Even on the internet, the 24/7/365 MARRIAGE of free content and worldwide distribution, bilingual abilities between arabic and english fetch a tidy sum.

Interesting. I wish life was like the Matrix where one could simply download to their brains a new language.

With all the new pathways of communication, and business, between the Middle East and the Americas, I'd love to know Arabic and have the free time to sit back and do something with it.

Forget working FOR somebody. No way I'd let some organization 1) make money of such a raw skill and 2) tell me what I'll be doing with that skill.

Oh but there's success to be had.

I don't just mean translating websites and PR statements for profiteering American companies (but lord knows there's literally millions of untapped dollars in that), but I also mean working for 'the good guys'. I'd write the Bill & Melinda Gates foundation and tell them I am a good guy. That I speak Arabic and I want to make the world a better place.

I'd immediately set up a business of my own... a corporate and nonprofit translation service. Nonprofits get free translation as long as they get a for-profit to sponsor them.

Well, that's not me. That's for sure. But it's nice to dream.


ROCKSTAR

My friend dated a rockstar. For real... somebody whose name you probably know, but whose music you've definitely rocked out to.

This rockstar gave her VD, and she just found out.

What a fucking lesson. Jesus, that sucks.

I'm meeting her for brunch. The girl needs a hug.

10:55 a.m. - 2006-09-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym