journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Job Market and Rants

I spoke too soon. Monday? Not a happy day.

WORK

My once-promising afternoon helper of a man, the guy with the killer GPA and penchant for green rooftops, turned out to be greusomely incompetent. He also seemed to lose every cheat sheet I created for him.

In the end, the look of sheer disappointment on my face this afternoon was reason enough for him to throw in the towel.

It left me griping about my assistant woes anew. And tearassing into a then-friend who worked at my company for a day, and badly destroyed our friendship thereafter.

Having lost a friend sucks. Having lost a friend who would temp in my office sucks even worse at the moment.


EVEN JULIA

Her dude, a hell of a guy actually, just lost his job today. No more plans. At least door-kicker called, I didnt' answer, and left me a voicemail that I haven't checked. I'm glad she called today, actually. No sense in salvaging a perfectly ruined day.

5:41 p.m. - 2006-09-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday Monday Happy Days


MONDAY SAVIOR

There she goes, saving my day again.

Julia called to announce that she was MAKING a full macrobiotic/healthy girl dinner, including dessert, and then hopping on the F train to my house around 8:30 tonight.

All I have to do be there with wine and 2 clean glasses. It shouldn't be too hard to do.


SUN

I had brunch with a dear friend, and pretty much spent the afternoon together. First being lazy around my house, and then meeting my god-of-hedge-funds friend Barnes for dinner in the Village. There�s nothing better than a plate of assorted cheeses, including soft cheeses, with truffled raw honey, candied black cherry jam, and pickled apricots served with spicy red wine. NOTHING better, I�m telling you.

Except maybe knowing that 2 friends of yours will grow professionally because they�ve met one another. I like doing that.

4:15 p.m. - 2006-09-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym