journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AUSSISTANT

I hired an Australian yesterday as the new full-time assistant. She started today and even before I met her, I knew right away she'd be an excellent hire.

When I invited her in for an interview, I asked if she needed subway directions. Her response was the only correct one: "No need, I'll look it up."

You'd be surprised at how many people will apply for a job to relieve a stressed-out manager, and then sit back and wait for their prospective employer to e-mail them directions.

You ain't gonna muckin' relieve me if I need to spoonfeed everything to you. Mucking fooch.

These are the same employees who regard using company resources for personal resources as a 'right', not a priviledge. This girl flat out told me that she believes it's an absolute no-no, and that if there's ever any spare time, she'd read up on our current projects.

Whereas I anticipated on bringing her on at average-pay, I immediately upped my offer to 'damn good' money.

She started today and came in early. Worked through the day like a champ, and only accidentally dropped one call.

It's going to be nice having her around.


7:45 p.m. - 2006-10-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym