journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Laura Hope, Bowtie, and Skatay Cello

What a long, long super-long day. I still have an amazing week ahead of me. Tomorrow night, I'm meeting Laura for a second-meeting & hopefully what turns into a first date.

As my single friends all pair off, I more than feel the urge to do so. Laura's an awesome chick, actually. She's even attracted to me; made a point of it in public within seconds of meeting me.

Maybe it was my new sportcoat. The gel in my hair. Maybe she didn't notice that I havent' been to the gym in a few dozen months. What will happen when she does?

Here's where the insecurities come out.

If this fails, it's going to be ME that screws it up. I'm not going to let that happen.

I'm ready, and I just met her. In my dreams, she's regarded as 'lucky'. And I hope to show her the time of her life.

We are geographically undesirable to one another.

WEDNESDAY - ON THE SHOULDERS OF GIANTS

I have a few friends who are luminaries in the industry. Absolute bigshots. One of them got me an invitation to the biggest damned greenbuilding conference in the universe.

I've been invited to the Unlted Nati0ns for the Urban Sustainable Design conference. Never in my life have I wished I could tie a bowtie more than right now.


BOWTIE

For an old man like me... 31 at latest count, I've done my share of hobnobbing. Maybe even more than my share. First-round equity financing, fundraising events, and charities that would knock your socks off.

And if I do anything well, it's people watching. I observe the room. I take indelible mental notes. And what I've noted thus far is that far & away, without exception, the one man in the room who wears the bowtie is the mack daddy.

The man.

Steven Tyler in a roomful of american idol contestants. Head & shoulders cooler than any beating heart around him.

I want to be that guy. I think I'd look nice in a bowtie, and even own a high-quality one. Just one.

I have 24 hours to learn how to tie a bowtie.


MONDAY NIGHT W/ ELAINE

A girl I used to see, formerly 'Petbuddy', is very much my 'Elaine".

"We used to date, but now we're just friends".

Right down to the curly hair, 'face like a frying pan', indecisiveness, and gregarious acts of friendship.

Tonight, at the Monday night party, was her boyfriend's birthday party. I've hung out with him a few times now, and I actually like the guy.

He's butt ugly, looks like Moby, is old, and is permanently affected by all the hard drugs and Dead shows in his life.

But he's good to me. Always gives me a handshake/hug, and treats me with great respect.

It was nice to be able to handle a night at the club with a girl I dated (and massively slept with) and the love of her life. They are so good together.

It's my turn.

Where's my lucky girl?

2:37 a.m. - 2006-10-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym