journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Myspace Start, Yacht Louise, and Tuesday Dinner

AOL'S DEAD

D-land aside, AOL used to neatly house my personal e-mail accounts, IM and chat functions, and supplementary browser all in one package. (Like AOL mail was the AOL browser's own default mail, which is super-convenient for things like Craigslist, etc, where you wish to remain anonymous.)

They then decided to stop charging, which is excellent, except the moment they did that, they turned a first-rate service into some serious bullshit. I was their LAST loyal fan, and they up and lost me. Complete idiots.


MYSPACE SETTINGS AND OBSERVATIONS

I've been brought into the world of myspace by Michaela... the same person who brought me to Dland a few years ago. The functionality seems to be similar to Friendster, and the look & feel of the navigation is actually a bit more trinky. Very Accord vs. Taurus.

The navigation sucks, and so do the myspace servers. They're 'too busy'. Myspace really needs to grow up and whine about their heavy traffic somewhere else. To me, it means you are in the website business and you don't value slickness.

It means they don't value catering to a demographic who values their own time.

The advantage, easily, is the quality and size of their base. It'd be nice to see this site step up to the plate a little bit.


PEEPS

I am making a point of putting on Myspace only people that I consider true friends. Good people; mensch. Otherwise, the enterprise suffers and I'm wasting my time.

Right now, my 'top friends' (12) meet one of three criteria:

1) Coolest pictures
2) Actual best friends, or
3) Hottest girls who I also happen to be dear friends with.

Look, it's the internet, and that means there's a visual component. I'm not shallow. My audience is, and I gotta keep them tuned in.

Besides, I like looking at them. In the event that I have to die young, I want to be reminded daily I can go happily.


YACHT LOUISE

She was a 70-foot yacht owned by a very wealthy man, and father of my friend Ash. The ship was named after Louise, Ash's mother.

I learned yesterday that Louise passed away in early Spring of this year.

I knew Louise. She had problems... perhaps too many drugs back when they were filthy rich... and definitely an alcoholic and addicted to prescriptions. Yet she was always so nice to me. Made me feel at home... when I was in college, she'd slip me $50 to get her vodka and told me to keep the change.

I knew her for a total of about 10 years and last saw her after she settled into her own place on Upper East, got a lexus, and finally began to live after her divorce. Except really, she finally began to die.

Ash was pregnant during the time her mother passed. I can't even imagine what that must have been like for her.

Today, I shed a tear for Louise. It was nice to know her. Poor woman. Through it all, I can attest that she remained a sweetheart.

I would have liked to have gone to her funeral.

I was in Belize during that time, and was completely out of their loop.


TUESDAY DINNER

I've been going to dinner on Tuesdays with a quality crowd of Brooklynites, and tonight's no exception. We are all 'regulars' at this point, so with the wine flows some excellent conversation.

I have a bit of a cough, so I hope I won't be talking too much tonight.

They say it's better to listen, anyway. Doubt I can stand that for a more than ten seconds, but we'll see.


6:19 p.m. - 2006-11-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym