journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am I said(were)

My friend Aubrey back in the day played the very song that she was named after tiled "and Aubrey was her name". As somebody with a name that's uncommon in America, I thought for sure I'd never find a song that either 1) said my name (or what sounds like my name), or 2) embodied my situation in any relevant way.

I was lounging out at Ryan's house yesterday, and he played a song that justabout fulfilled both of those things. The song is not an exact fit with my complete situation, but it certainly resonates with some of my more depressed moments. It sings about a man who is in love with both NYC and palm trees. Somebody single, somebody who can't stand to be alone. I played it a few times today and I really identify with it. The song is "I am I said", by Neil Diamond. Lyrics below:

LA's fine, sunshine most of the time
The feeling is
laid back
Palm trees grow and the rents are low
But
you know I keep thinking about
Making my way back

Well, I'm New York City born and raised
But
nowadays, I'm lost between two shores
LA's fine,
but it ain't home
New York's home but it
ain't mine no more

I am, I said
To no one
there
And no one heard at all
Not even the chair
I am, I cried
I am, said I
And I am lost, and I
can't even say why
Leavin' me lonely still

Did you ever read about a frog who dreamed of being a
king
And then became one
Well, except for the names
and a few other changes
If you talk about me, the
story's the same one

But I got an emptiness deep
inside
And I've tried but it won't let me go
And I'm not a man who likes to swear
But I've
never cared for the sound of being alone

I am, I
said
To no one there
And no one heard at all
Not
even the chair
I am, I cried
I am, said I
And I
am lost, and I can't even say why

I am, I
said
I am, I cried
I am...

3:18 p.m. - 2006-11-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym