journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Unsolicited Social Opinions

You know, since I really stand behind US Constitutional amendments 1 & 4, I've been called a liberal. Because I believe in #s 2 and 5, I've been called a conservative.

Well, it turns out that rather than being "both", I am neither. It also turns out I'm a freedom-loving American.

I think the party that truly grabs the attention of people like me just might also grab the attention of the many others just like me.

I think people should have the right to have guns, yet I am against the death penalty.

I love my gay friends because they are people, and good ones at that. But I think the nature vs. nature debate on where homosexuality 'comes from' becomes a non-debate when identical twins, in several instances including my next-door neighbors growing up, produce one each one gay and straight sibling.

An episode of Will & Grace famously quotes Jack as saying "everybody knows when there's identical twins, one of them is always gay."

In all other cases, when social-science constructs are confounded by biological facts, biology prevails. This should be no different. Does it mean I dislike gay people? Only an maladjusted idiot would think so.

I also wholeheartedly believe that if people have a sexual preference for any type of person (male, female, whatever), that they should be able to do whatever the hell they want to with that person. I think making an issue of gay-marriage is going to backfire on the 'religious' "right".

I also believe the "I was born this way" argument hurts the gay population. People who have ever met a gay/straight pair of identical twins don't really have much patience for this claim. No matter how much these folks stomp their feet and moan about it.

Let gay/straight/whatever people get married. The world could use a little goodwill.

So what's the story... are there others like me out there?

5:18 p.m. - 2006-11-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym