journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Great Utility, a Discussion of Men's Coats, VIllage Cigar, and Carloads

I drove my father home after his afternoon hernia surgery today. I know... two dad-medical issues in one year. People take note, they say. It begins here. They're right, of course.

Though these are minor procedures. He definitely is a happy, self-actualized, successful, and active man. It's true as sure as I'm here typing this.

And it's been a lovely day. I ended up in NJ, and my particularly munificent mother handed me 2 credit cards, a handful of Macy's coupons (SCAM, SCAM, hate those fuckers) and told me to go out and get anything winter-related that my heart desired. For my birthday.

COATS

In Macy's I perused the lovely suit-like cashmere coats that cost roughly a grand, give or take, for about ten minutes. Zero variety. Nothing 'crazy' whatsoever.

The ones that did appeal to me from a fashion sense wouldn't be warm enough. The dark indigo single-breasted peacoat I wore into the store stood out as by far the best coat in the joint.

So I left.

And I ended up going to TJ, of all places, and finding a ridiculously pleasant and durable and down-filled proper men's winter coat. Nice enough to wear with a suit... I mean not to the UN, but to and from work on a snowy day- definitely. Good/great brand name. For a fifth of the cashmere.

I'm just going to have my peacoat cleaned, buy a lovely/fancy scarf to wear with it, and wear the two only occasionally.

Besides, I've been much enjoying the soft, loving arms of my brown leather Lucky brown bomber jacket. I need to be more a bomber jacker person an less a cashmere person.

I reject cashmere on grounds that I have been to the Kashmir region of India 3 or 4 times now, and I'll tell you that it's very, very inexpensive there. I'm thinking maybe even I'll buy all my sweaters there next month.

IMPORTANT PURCHASE

I went out and bought something that I've been meaning to own for the past 5 years. I recommend everybody buy one, especially if you use a laptop.

External hard drive.

I bought one today as a gift to myself. 200 Gigs, sits on my desk, and plugs into my laptop via USB. Back everymo-fuggin thing up. Finally create THE master hard drive of my things. All things. Finally be confident that my laptop is fully backed up before taking it to a third world nation.

My friend is a huge tech hedgefund god person, and recently lost his laptop in central america. Even HE suffered data loss. I couldn't believe that he didn't own a little harddrive on his desk (or welded into his desk, if it need be), that backed everything up.

Well I'm doing it. And I'm thrilled about it.

I bought a new bowl today. This one's a top-loader. Shaped like a finger, kind of. I like it.

Goodnight. :-)

1:59 a.m. - 2006-11-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym