journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CNN and Carumba Paper

CNN

After two months of suffering through basic cable (which does NOT include little things like CNN, discovery, mtv, comedy, espn...), a miracle occurred within Time Warner, and they heeded our request.

I flipped through the remote on Saturday, and miracle of miracles. I stumbled right onto CNN. My god. I should have grabbed the flipper last week, perhaps.

CNN is back in my life. It used to be that the only TV I watched was at the gym, and I would inevitably select CNN (or Foxnews, just to see what the enemy was up to).

I think the quality that cable TV adds to life in a NY apartment.

RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE

Insurance lawyers suck. I don't like them. We have a mini-team defending us on some stupid, frivolous claim, and they truly seem more concerned with billing our carrier than disposing of the claims.

What's worse is that the insurance company says they care, but doesn't really mind in any real way. Of course they don't care. If our lawyer is 'not horrendous', they'll settle and then our premiums will go up.

The opposing party makes a claim for 50K. The lawyers say they can dispose it for $ 30K, including their fees.

It's a machine. I've been standing up to these people.

I've been tearassing into them, to be honest. Demanding


FAVES

I fellow NYU psych-alum, and somebody pursuing a masters in an ivy grad program, has asked me to edit a super-important final paper for her. 40% of her grade. Due tomorrow morning.

I'm touched. I'm also super-psyched.

I was the wiseass who thumbed my nose at grad school. The brash little salmon who swam with the current instead.

I did it my way. Was it worth the gamble? In some ways, hell yes.

My friend here thinks I still 'got it'.

Let's see if I do


10:18 p.m. - 2006-12-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym