journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

JJ Dude Blowout

I haven't updated in a while, and I probably won't for a few days now, either. I have a feeling this one's gonna be a long one.

JJ

I got into a very heated situation with the new-boyfriend of a close friend, JJ, and it certainly has had its consequences. The new boyfriend... well he's no prize, and I don't like him whatsoever for my friend.

His resume includes two stints in jail, expulsion from a labor union, a crack addiction, two heart attacks, and a 9-year old boy. Dude's just barely 30.

OF COURSE I know it's not my place to judge, and therefore I've done the right thing and look past my own feelings on the guy. No matter how scary he looks or how ruff & tough he is about everything he says and does.

He seems to make JJ happy, and that's good enough for me. I've offered him a high-level contact in his labor sector who can possibly get him work and 'see past' his union history. I let him know he stands a bit to earn when my own folks expand their house in the Spring. We're good like that, or so I thought.

So I needed some metal signs altered for work, and it turns out dude works for a metal sign place. He said he'd be able to make the changes right in his apartment in about 20 minutes, and I'd be squared away. I told him I'd thrown him a hundred bucks or so for his time, and he seemed very happy with the deal.

It's not a big deal. It's changing addresses on 4 signs because our office moved.

Well, he ended up taking another job, losing access to his 'sign stuff', and leaving my signs with his former boss. I don't really care WHO does the work, as long as it's done well and at a reasonable price.

So I was over JJ's house the other day, and Dude talking about the signs with JJ and in his Jesse-Ventura rough & tough manner said "Danny knows that I got him a sign job, so I want to get a commission on this."

They're fucking fleecing me, man. Some favor.

I didn't say anything about it right then/there, but I did introduce the subject the next morning. It did not go well. At all.

He had JJ screaming that he 'deserved a commission'. Nobody seemed to care that I agreed to only him doing it in his living room. Not to two guys enriching themselves off me.

It really isn't my business what happens 'to the money' once I spend it, but how stupid do you have to be to first tell your friend you're doing them a favor and THEN say you're earning a commission right in front of them?

Her parents have told her, but she just didn't listen. I repeated it: this is not the dude for you. I made it extremely clear and I didn't sugar-coat it. I'm sorry she knows him. I'm sorry he took anti-smoker, dean's list JJ and turned her into a girl who skips class and smokes reds.

I'll happily see and talk to her anytime, but that my days of hanging out with her Dude are over.

Sucks.

8:41 p.m. - 2006-12-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym