journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Smoke is OUT

SMOKE OUT

I first began toking when I was 19, and never did I think I'd be here 13 years later and blazing away with the same abandon.

And here I am, and a number of different things have occurred that have got me re-thinking the whole thing. All of it. I know if I ask myself the question, "do you want this in your life anymore?", the answer would be 'no'.

The percentage of people who have outgrown this 'by now' is staggering. More plainly, as for the people who continue to smoke, the behavior keeps them from greatness. Duh, for real. I'm not getting preachy on you.

It's wrong. It's also just plain illegal.

My friend JTJ just showed up for her first day at a dreamjob and was told to piss in a cup. I mean, of all the dumb fucking things to screw up a job like that.

I think a most important reason is that I met a wonderful girl. This wonderful girl, and we can call her Sally (yes, roommate of Mary, for those who are counting), and I have been spending time together, and it's turned into a very special relationship.

Sally has quit, in a very deliberate way, any and all intoxicating substances. While she'll never ask me to do the same, I know deep down that unless I do, I can't really have any future with her.

I want a future with her. Since I'm not committed to doing it forever, I can't imagine a better time than now to be done with it.

And be done with it for good. And for all the good that will come out of it.

1:49 a.m. - 2007-05-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym