journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Girl and Whackjobs

GIRLFRIEND

Those who read are the ones who know I've met a girl. Maybe we'll call her Sweetie.

The good news is that we have the most incredible time together. She's sweet, beautiful, loving, passionate, and strong.

The bad news is that the start of our relationship has been plagued by an ever-insane group of clingy evangelicals. Oh yes. The kind that make you want to run fast and far.

They all work at a faith based drug/alcohol treatment place, and this employer also provides no-charge nice residences for its staff. So they all live in the same place.

They have messed with me personally. They've messed with my workplace, which affects my relationship with my father.

Their reasoning: I'm not Christian. Not exactly in those words, but even mor divisive ones.

Moreover, they have made a demand on her that she not see me. Her roommates keep tabs on her, and the big boss calls her into his office and on her cell phone regularly. It's been a nightmare.

However from this ordeal, there have been many positive outcomes.

Whereas I never seriously considered my own spiritual beliefs, all this talk of Christianity has sent me scrambling to come up with rebuttals, counterarguments, and a great deal of self-exploration.

We were raised inn Indian family that visited temples very infrequently. Our religious exposure was minimal.

Yet I'm comforted to discover that many of my beliefs very strongly coincide with Hinduism.

I'm bothered by some of the world religions' belief that their way is the 'only way'.

More on this later.

12:34 a.m. - 2007-06-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym