journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Resurgence, An Almost Employee, and Early NYC Fall

I'm putting down a placemarker in this journal and saying hello. I'm back; I'll be back. I've been away.

Far, far away, even. No, not jail. It does feel good to write again. I need this.

I made a job offer to a woman yesterday, who since completely disappointed me to the point that I rescinded it. Takes a lot. I do wonder if I went overboard, but I also know I have to be comfortable with the person I hire.

It's bothering me though because it's so hard out there to find a job, I know. She came so close, and then completely failed to 1) send a thank-you, 2) accept the offer in a timely way, or 3) make sure we had her right address after pulling a "I didn't get the offer" - when we didnt' get an error.

Of course she called and emailed right away after we told her the offer was rescinded. With excuses, she called. I told her this: "I don't need an assistant to make excuses TO me. I need one to make excuses FOR me.".

I certainly am going through tremendous life changes. Probably why I'm writing this again.

Can't wait to get into it some time. But it's late, I have to get my "Thursday night jumpoff", and it gets dark early now.

6:45 p.m. - 2008-10-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym