journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Very Random Thoughts

I've missed journaling, and I'm grateful to finally have time to sit back and pound out a few thoughts.

It's not that I haven't had meaningful experiences or thoughts in the past few weeks. It's more that I haven't had the opportunity or attention-span to jot them all down.

And ever since I've pledged to stop writing about 'myself, per se', writing has come less naturally.

Speaking of myself, I saw 3 movies this past weekend: Nap0leon Dynamlte, 0cean's 12, and Meet the F0ckers.

In subsequent conversation, I related Depeche Mode & The Smiths to Pedro in that first movie. That they reached out to a base tht was untouched by popular culture. That listening to that music back in the day was the same as voting for Pedro.

My past few weeks have also been lively on account of my planned career transition. I am still going to leave DadCo, and I'm pleased with the different options on the table. I have to say I've been less than entirely expedient about 'closing, signing, and actually moving on."

I've also come to realize that there is no substitute for raw attraction between lovers.

And that nobody has ever woken up in the morning and said, "Damn. I sure wish we had some coke last night." If inclined, one could say that about most any drug. Never cocaine.

I've learned that few things are sexier than a candlelit tapas restaurant with loud, live flamenco dancing. Not a fancy place... a good place. I wanted to avoid 'rubberstamp' NYC spots in exchange for actual cultural experiences, and I've been successful.

Tonight at the diner, I ordered herbal tea & wanted honey and lemon to go with it. The waitstaff concurred that there was no honey. After weighing my options, I decided to get up to go buy honey at the deli next door. Upon getting out of my booth, the owner came over and insisted that I sit down and that he�ll provide me honey. Seconds later, he emerged from the kitchen with a large ramekin full of the good stuff, and told me to �feel better�. Love that diner now.

It will be interesting to watch the Miers confirmation process. I�m thoroughly unimpressed by her.

11:10 p.m. - 2005-10-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym