journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Germanyfest, Barnes, and India Travel Planning

FOURSOME

My newest social quad is a group of 2 of my chickbuddies, me, and my nedgefund-God of a friend Barnes. Tonight we met in the far east village in celebration of Oktoberfest, and kept the festing up til just about now.

In fact, I was the only one to throw in the towel early. (I do that). The 3 of them are likely all still at our spot on 5th between A and B.

It's nice to have a guy friend that is cool and multidimensional enough to have around 2 separate girl friends without any worry of boundary violation. The four of us are pretty darn cool, in fact.


BARNES

Mr. Barnes may very well meet me in India over new years. Most of my entire living family will be there for something of a reunion.

I can hardly put into words how amazing it would be for an American friend of mine/ours... a true friend who I made via our family's American existence... to meet my extended family and travel with me in the country of our origin.

He has the right blend of resources and adventurousness so that when he says he 'just might grab a flight', I believe him.


RULES OF TRAVEL

In the middle of my college years (and not during my childhood), my father's hard work and dedication began to make him some very serious money.

Though he won't be frugal in some areas (the type of car he drives, family parties including weddings), he's probably one of the cheapest people you'd ever meet. It serves him well, however, when it comes to travel, I believe he could benefit from spending just a LITTLE more.

Namely, on hotels when we travel to India. My parents travel frequently & travel well, however when we go to India, my family insists on staying with relatives.

AKA, sleeping on floors with hard pillows and all sharing facilities of questionable standards for Americans. Moreover it's never the bath/sleeping accomodations that I really mind. It's having to play the role of 'houseguest'; having to eat whatever it is they cook, whenever they cook it, and being 'on' 24 hours a day. Acting and behaving gratefully the entire time.

I'm very appreciative of the hospitality, but I have to tell you that it absolutely ruins my vacation.

India, big cities in particular, are a LOT to take in. I need a daily respite to regroup my thoughts. My mother said that it is considered disrespectful to not stay with relatives.

I told her that my physical needs are more important than my social ones.


THE SOLUTION

I'll visit with family as much as they desire. But I want to do it from an incredible hotel. From the kind of place my cousins pass by a million times, but can only dream of staying in.

It's not to show off money. It's to share knowledge on 'how to travel right'.

Waking up in a beautiful room, with maids tending to your errands during the day while you go out and enjoy the city, is really the only way to justify the airline expense to a faraway poor country.

I really wouldn't have it any other way.

Not just A hotel, but a STUNNING hotel.

1:02 a.m. - 2006-10-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym