journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sista Madness and Roommate Mega Cleaning

If this week were given a running theme, it would be that of 'sisters'.

Everybody's sister, it seems, is in NY this week. Thurs/Fri/Sat, I saw the sisters McGee from Kansas, hung out with the ultra-tall sisters Stanford from Texas and their entire visiting family, and saw the KVK (a colleague and fellow partier) sisterhood at the museum party. My own sister is coming back from her 8-week European tour this Wednesday, and we're set to have dinner in town that night.

Also in town are a fair number of visiting Chicagoans. Has NYC grown soft on me? I'd really hate to move... I like where I live quite a bit.

SPEAKING of which, this weekend breathed a whole new life into my apartment.

My roommate... correction. My incredibly organized and borderline OCD (but in a good way)-clean roommate took it upon herself to TOTALLY re-arrange and clean up our apartment.

I know now what people mean when they say a room feels 'feng shui'. It means they have Suzy the roomate who is a motherfucking dynamo.

Besides moving nearly every piece of living room furniture on her own into a far more pleasing & efficient layout, my little nutjob of a roommate sat there for an hour in the entrance hallway windexing & scrubbing the painted white walls until every single smudge & smudgelet was vanished completely.

She then hung up some silly little vintage art poster prints. Damnit. I had my eye on a life preserver that said "Welcome Aboard" for the entrance hallway.

I should have helped her clean... or cleaned up instead of her. I think the unwritten roommate rule of neglected walls is 'if you clean it - you get to decorate it'.

I'm just going to have to demote the life preserver to bathtub duty.

I gotta get some sleep if I'm going to work a full day and then regroup for the Monday night party. A tasteful night out with friends and the Monday-international crowd will be a refreshing change from Saturday's outdoor-loud/crowded beer garden.

There are so few summer Mondays left, and I'll be damned if I let them pass me by.

Time to put on my party socks.

11:15 p.m. - 2006-08-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym