journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mags/Karen, and Dinner Party

CHARLESTON REDUX

Two bridesmaids and dear friends of mKla, my friend who just got married in Charleston, also live in NY. I invited them and some others last night to a super-successful dinner party at my place.

I'd known one for a while (Mags), and the other I just met while down at the wedding. We'll call her Karen.


KAREN

We call her Karen because she's exactly like Karen from Will/Grace... even looks like her. An uncharacteristic PK, she's 'fabulous', uses the word often, and is married to an Upper East side anesthesiologist.

My favorite quote from her, and the moment I decided to call her Karen is "Oh honey, the best part of being hung over on a Saturday and married to an anesthesiologist is that he hooks me right up in the living room to a fluid drip. It perks you right up, you oughtta try it! I never go out without knowing there are at least 2 bags of saline in the house for the morning after."

The girl's precious. We plan amazing things related to friendship.

(I only learned yesterday that PK is a well-known term for "preacher's kid". In case you're wondering...)


MAGS

I'm so proud of Mags. In a period of one month after arriving in NY with a crisp college diploma, she:

Found a great Brooklyn apartment not far from mine
Landed a Director's position at a giant nonprofit totally related to her field
Became friends with numerous people at various shops in her neighborhood
Now engages in Tuesday-night dinner parties on her block where the members each pick a house to dine at, and the host cooks for everybody. (I'm going Tues)
Is planning a party of her own for next month.

She's been here not even a month. Not bad for a southern gal who just got her masters a small Christian university.

I was beginning to think it was hard to shift gears, or to get started, in NY.

I'm glad Mags has restored my faith in this verdant town.


THE MENU

Whole-wheat pitabread pizzas. Directions: you take a pita bread, lay it on it's side, butter it's belly with a bit of olive oil, gingerly lay onto it various toppings included portobello mushrooms that have been caramelized/sauteed in balsamic until they're all shriveled, chopped vine tomatoes, spinach in some cases, sundried tomatoes for sure, and a selection of thinly sliced artisinal cheeses.

Mac n cheese. Karen is from Georgia and the Doc is from TX. Nuff said.

Pitchers of sangria w/ raspberries and cognac.

Fine italian pastries.

5:48 p.m. - 2006-10-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym