journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crash Victims, Bike to Jane

CRASH VICTIMS

First it was Julia that got hit by a car. Then her roommate. New to the list is my dear friend Jane (JTJ), who was nailed by a fast-moving car on Fulton Street.

No broken bones, yet she dented the car. It could have been much worse, in all 3 cases.

So I pedaled over to Jane's place out in BedStuy with heating pads from the drugstore in tow.


AIR

In other bicycle news, I recommend adding air to your tires during colder weather. (pressure/temperature) I did just that today, and I was zooming all over the place.


TICKET

As soon I arrived at her house, 4 miles away, I rode up onto the curb and was about 3 buildings away from her apartment, and I heard "stop right there!".

2 police officers. One directing me to dismount the bike immediately, and the other asking me to put it up against the wall, break out some ID, and stand next to the bike and not put my hands in my pockets other than to get my wallet.

"I was just riding on the road. I just hopped onto the curb because a car passed me close and I got scared for a second."

I thought they would play off of my distress signal. Save me rather than bust me, I hoped. Nothing.

"I'm just going right there *pointing*... my friend got hit by a car and I'm bringing her heating pads for her back." Still, nothing. No points for the samaritan.

So they wrote me out a summons for biking on the sidewalk. Dicks. No fine, but a mandatory court appearance, and if it happens again, I have to pay $ 350.

They can fuckin blow me.

1:19 a.m. - 2006-10-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym