journalman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Demand Vacuum & a Goleman Case Study

There is no rejection more hurtful than rejection on the basis of 'having applied' in the first place.

Specifically, I'm made to feel like an idiot and a desperate fool because I'd gone out of my way to befriend somebody. It's somebody who recently went through a tough time, and who doesn't live far away.

However, as a friend close to her revealed to me, some people are so filled with bitterness and mistrust that they actually invent reasons to dislike those who are nice to them.

So I'm left feeling bewildered as to why my invites are left unanswered, while slowly realizing that my invites.. in and of themselves... are the very reason.

I don't have time for people who are going to make me regret investing time in them.

My friendship is too valuable to be re-priced by those consumers who are disinterested. The market sets price based on demand.

Here I am selling where there is no demand... and it's affecting my price. This doesn't make me a very intelligent economist.

And therefore I must change course. I'm not so easy to get. I'm not desperate for company, least of all the company of a person who is aching to call me exactly that.

Ew.

3:15 p.m. - 2006-10-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sexyatheist
neangel
pollux
justcircles
plaidskies
danddteacher
frail
rash
mangofarmer
idiot-milk
drahmaqueen
idiomatic
captvfirefly
Beulahbondo
liviasgarden
unused-for
nesotte
sweetnettle
chickpea981
hothead
metonym